Dec 07

Improving our response to child neglect

NSPCC Graded Care Profile 2 (GCP2) – A tool to support you to confidently and accurately identify neglect

Improving the recognition of child neglect and providing effective support for a child impacted by neglectful or sub-optimal parenting is a top priority for the CSCB. To support multi-agency safeguarding practice, and to enable practitioners to confidently and effectively recognise neglect, the CSCB is introducing the NSPCC Graded Care Profile2 (GCP2) to Croydon. 

What is the Graded Care Profile2?

  • It is an evidence based assessment tool for evaluating levels of parental care
  • Uses Maslow’s hierarchy of needs to ensure comprehensive coverage of child’s needs
  • Uses a graded scale (1-5) to capture levels of child’s physical and emotional care
  • Can help identify parental strengths and concerns
  • Targets aspects of neglectful care
  • Provides evidence that can inform intervention and care planning
  • Is used with single assessments, early help assessments or specialist assessments

The GCP2 is an evidence based neglect tool which has been evaluated and updated by the NSPCC. It is a tool which aims to deepen practice around neglect and to support practitioners of different disciplines to identify whether and to what extent an individual child’s needs are being met by capturing the quality of care provided by a parent/carer.

Strengths of GCP2

  • Improved assessment process
  • More objective, evidence based
  • Unpacks the parenting capacity – improved breadth and depth of assessment
  • Promotes child centred approach
  • Participative process which encourages parental engagement
  • Multi-agency tool which can be used by practitioners from different settings
  • Watch this short video for more information: Measuring care, helping families

Introduction of the GCP2 in Croydon

During 2018 the GCP2 will become available for practitioners to use the GCP2 in Croydon. This will include children’s social workers, family support and early help teams, family nurse partnership teams, health visitors, school nurses, other health practitioners and relevant staff in schools.

We have identified early adopter sites to introduce the use of the tool locally before full roll-out – including in social care, the family resilience service and the family nurse partnership. These sites will help ensure that the introduction of the GCP2 works well alongside existing procedures and develop local best practice.

There will be briefings for managers beginning in Apr 2018 and training for practitioners beginning in Apr/May 2018.

If you have any questions about the GCP2 and how it can help your practice, please use one of the contact points listed below.

Agency/Setting Email
Children’s Social Care Oretha Wofford: Oretha.wofford@croydon.gov.uk or Lee Avery: lee.avery@croydon.gov.uk
Early Help & Best Start Sarah Phillips: sarah.phillips@croyodn.gov.uk, Margaret Walsh: m.walsh1@nhs.net
Croydon Health Service Lynne Reed: lynne.reed1@nhs.net, Dona Thomas: dona.thomas@nhs.net,  Pauline Grant: pauline.grant3@nhs.net
Croydon CCG Sally Innis: sally.innis@swlondon.nhs.uk
Education settings Val Burrell-Walker Valerie.Burrell-Walker@croydon.gov.uk
Any other areas or queries Anita McGrath: Anita.mcgrath@croydon.gov.uk
NSPCC
NHS South London
Met Police
NHS Croydon Health Services
NHS Croydon Clinical
Safer London